Judas Priest, Motörhead & Soundgarden Nominated For 2020 Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

October 15, 2019

It appears that the organizers in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame decided to put greater emphasis on the "rock" portion in the list of artists nominated for induction in 2020.

Judas Priest was previously nominated in 2018 with a lot of fan support, and they are back in the race again this year. Should they make the list in 2020, its current lineup Rob Halford, Ian  Hill, Glenn Tipton and Scott Travis, along with K.K. Downing, Les Binks, and late drummer Dave Holland will have their names inducted.

Soundgarden has also been nominated for the class of 2020, and if they are chosen, Kim Thayil, Matt Cameron, Ben Shepherd, former member Hiro Yamamoto, and late vocalist Chris Cornell would be inducted.

Fan favorites Motörhead also see a potential induction in 2020, and would honor the names of its power trio Lemmy Kilmister, "Fast" Eddie Clarke and Phil "Philthy Animal" Taylor. However, it's surviving members Phil Campbell and Mikkey Dee have been left out of the nomination.

Part of the induction process is the Fan Vote in which fans can select five nominated artists they would like to see inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2020. The fan vote will run from October 15th, 2019 through January 10th, 2020. The top five nominees of the "fan ballot" will have their votes tallied along the votes of artists, music historians and music industry figures.

Check out the full list of nominees for the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame's class of 2020 below:

  • Pat Benatar

  • Dave Matthews Band

  • MC5

  • Motörhead

  • Judas Priest

  • Soundgarden

  • Nine Inch Nails

  • Whitney Houston

  • T. Rex

  • Thin Lizzy

  • Kraftwerk

  • Notorious B.I.G.

  • Depeche Mode

  • The Doobie Brothers

  • Rufus featuring Chaka Khan

  • Todd Rundgren